Duckworth steps down as School Board president, Becker named to post

• Bookmarks: 3

— Mike Duckworth, outgoing president of the Evansville Vanderburgh School Corp. School Board, admitted Monday evening that there are times board members may not want to attend a meeting because they know tough decisions will have to be made. But, he said there are fun times, too, such as when new stadiums are dedicated.

Duckworth stepped down Monday evening as the board’s president, with the naming of member Sally Becker to the post. She served previously the board’s vice president. Becker was elected to the board in 2006 and is beginning her seventh year of service.

Chris Kiefer, originally elected to the board in 2003, was selected as vice president. Terry Gamblin was re-elected as secretary. He was originally elected to the board in 1988.

Normally, Duckworth said the members take their oaths of office at the meeting, but this year that happened on Jan. 1 at a ceremony at the Ford Center when everyone elected in November started their new terms. He congratulated he returning School Board members and said it had been a pleasure working closely the past year with EVSC Superintendent David Smith and his staff.

“I think as we get into the meat of your being our superintendent, with the leadership team that you’ve put together, our children and our community are served very well,” Duckworth said. “And I appreciate the dedication and hard work you’ve put forward, and I want to thank you for everything that you’ve done to listen to me and work with me.”

“And there have been times that have been really challenging for public schools, not only in Indiana but in our entire nation, and as a result of your leadership I think we have sailed through in remarkable shape and have great, great hope for the future, so thank you very much for your leadership,” Smith said.

In other news at Monday’s meeting:

n The board approved more than $533,000 will be transferred from the Capital Projects Fund to the Rainy Day Fundraising the balance of that fund to about $5.8 million.

nThe board approved Carl Underwood as the EVSC treasurer and Jean Stevens and Courtney Bohleber are deputy treasurers.

n The board also elected a president and secretary for the board of finance. Duckworth was elected president and Gamblin was elected secretary. They will receive and review the investment report

n It was approved that Bix Branson, a past member of the School Board, will serve as the EVSC representative to the Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library board of trustees for a four-year term beginning Jan. 1.

3 recommended
comments icon0 comments
0 notes
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *